Exploring Connecticut: Kent Falls

I recently went to Kent Falls located in Kent, Connecticut with my friend, and I visit here about 2 times a year in the warmer months. However, with all the nice weather recently I decided to be daring and visit during February. Looking back at it, that might have been a bit of a mistake. First of all, there was ice all around where the falls was so you couldn’t walk directly to the bottom of the falls unless you want to look like a penguin sliding on your stomach all the way to the falls. Even some of the stone steps were covered in ice, but it made it a little easier with a hand rail there to hold on to. And lastly, I almost got lost in the woods because of all the rain recently there was mud everywhere on the other side of the trail so it made it difficult to spot the trail or to even cross it. However, this seems like something that would only happen during the winter months, and I encourage everyone to visit during the summer because it’s absolutely beautiful and you can actually swim in the falls too, and I think it might just be the largest water fall in Connecticut. After exploring the falls, I went back into town that has some great shopping, cute boutiques, and a great chocolate and ice cream store (I ended up getting a mint chocolate chip ice-cream)! The whole town is very artsy meets hipster meets preppy. Almost everyone walks their dog around here and most dining places along the main street allow you to eat with your dog outside. If anyone has ever seen the movie Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2, they filmed one of the scenes here in Kent at one of the outdoor dining areas, and it was the scene with Carmen and the two friends she was working with in the play in Vermont. And I actually ate at the same table at the same restaurant, but the store changed owners I think since it is now a cheese shop/restaurant called 109 Cheese and Wine. I ordered a grilled cheese, that’s on sourdough bread, and has Vermont sharp cheddar, gruyere, and Toma Pt. Reyes, and Vermont butter. And I also got a pecan sandie bar, and a tomato and cheddar soup to dunk my grilled cheese in which was delicious My favorite store in Kent has to be Kent Coffee and Chocolate Company, and it is as good as it sounds. My favorite items to get there is a peanut butter cookie with dark chocolate drizzle (it tastes like a peanut butter cup but 100x better), pecan caramel chocolate turtles, chocolate covered pretzel rods, and chocolate covered graham cracker s’mores. And on the way back home, I was able to see the river alongside the road, and because of the weather, all the ice broke up and it is something I have never seen before in real life, it looked similar to how all the ice broke up near the end of the movie Frozen. That’s all for now, enjoy the photos!

IMG_4244

IMG_4251

IMG_4351

IMG_4255

IMG_4256

IMG_4259

IMG_4261

IMG_4262

IMG_4264

IMG_4270

IMG_4272

IMG_4273

IMG_4275

IMG_4276

IMG_4286

IMG_4289

IMG_4290

IMG_4293

IMG_4296

IMG_4303

IMG_4306

IMG_4309

IMG_4312

IMG_4327
This is the moment I realized I was lost, but found my way back to another trail after 20 minutes

 

IMG_4245
109 Cheese and Wine

 

IMG_4246

FullSizeRender
Kent Coffee and Chocolate Company
IMG_4332
Huge chunks of ice along the river

“If you wish to travel far and fast, travel light. Take off all your envies, jealousies, unforgiveness, selfishness and fears” – Cesare Pavese

2 thoughts on “Exploring Connecticut: Kent Falls

Leave a comment