Hello? It’s me… Calling You From a British Phone Booth in Bermuda

I woke up around 6am this morning to catch the sunrise from my hotel room balcony, and it was definitely worth getting up that early, it was simply stunning. IMG_2687

IMG_2692

IMG_2696

I then slept in for another hour before getting ready and heading down to the breakfast bar and grabbed a muffin that I ate as I explored around the hotel.

IMG_2746

IMG_2707

IMG_2738

IMG_2742

IMG_2726

The circle archway in front of the jacuzzi, also known as a moon gate, is a popular tradition in Bermuda, as well as in China, and it is regarded as good luck for newlyweds to step through the gate.

IMG_2728

I love the gazebo at this hotel! I walked along the path to the gazebo numerous times and I have found colorful lizards and from the gazebo you can also feed the fish and can get the fish food from the main lobby.

IMG_2737

IMG_2734

IMG_2733

After exploring around the hotel, I then went back to St. George’s to catch a ferry ride to the Royal Naval Dockyards, which is located on the other side of the island. I still had time before catching my ride so I explored around St. George’s more and tried to visit some places that I had missed last time.

IMG_2748
Admiral Sir George Summers- Founded Bermuda in 1610

 

IMG_2749

IMG_2751

I then spotted this on a wall near the town hall, I’m not sure what it is, perhaps its like a coat of arms for Bermuda, similar to how Irish families have their own coat of arms/family crest.

IMG_2807

IMG_2818
St. Peter’s Church- built in 1620

As I was sitting in the waiting room to catch the ferry, I noticed the town crier was back in St. George’s and he was playing a bagpipe for all of us that were waiting. He was actually quite hilarious and when the ferry did arrive and the passengers were getting off he ended up playing “My Heart Will Go On” by Celine Dion (famous song from Titanic).

IMG_2752

IMG_2753

Once we got on the ferry, we then sailed away from St. George’s and headed towards the Royal Naval Dockyards, and along the way I got to see Fort St. Catherine from afar.

IMG_2754
Leaving St. George’s
IMG_2763
Fort St. Catherine

After about 40 minutes, we arrive at the Royal Naval Dockyards and see a couple of giant cruise ships, one of which my family and I were thinking about taking instead of staying for a week at a hotel. It turns out the exact ship was stranded on some reef near the dockyards and the passengers could either stay on the ship (but the electricity got cut off) or the ship could take you back to the airport and have you fly back home. I feel bad for the passengers since the ship only stopped in Bermuda for about 2.5 days and even then their vacation got cut short. But the water near the dockyards was unbelievably light blue, I don’t even know how to describe it properly.

IMG_2778

IMG_2784

IMG_2780

The captain of the ferry then points out on the left that Bermuda is home to many sailing yachts and the Oracle is a famous American sailing yacht that competes in the World Cup. Once we depart the ship we are immediately on the hunt for a restaurant since we were starving. We entered through the gorgeous brick fort that even has canons on the lawn, and at the end of the fort is a great restaurant called The Frog and Onion Pub & Restaurant, which has a great old time English pub feel.

IMG_2782

IMG_2783

IMG_2797

IMG_2798
You can purchase tickets to get a horse-drawn carriage ride around the dockyards

 

IMG_2787

The Frog and Onion Pub & Restaurant has many artifacts that look like they could have been from the time Bermuda was founded, as well as many flags from around the world. Our table also had a great view looking out to the lawn of the fort. For lunch I ordered the Frog’s classic buffalo wings for an appetizer, and a roasted turkey BLT. I recommend getting the authentic cottage pie (also called Shepard’s pie), my dad loves Shepard’s pie, and he said this was the best one he has ever tasted.

IMG_2793
Frog and Onion Pub and Restaurant

IMG_2796

After lunch, we explored around the Royal Naval Dockyards  and noticed that it mostly contained stores, specialty shops, or pottery/art galleries. Nearby where the ships are docked, there is a small circular stand where you can find different types of water sports to experience. Some of the different activities are Dolphin Quest, where you can actually swim with dolphins, SNUBA, which is great for beginners to scuba diving, jet skiing, and also snorkeling. I also noticed near another restaurant that they have red phone booths typically found in London, so I had to take a picture with it otherwise I felt like I would have regretted not doing it.

IMG_2786

Afterwards we went shopping around town, to the Clock Tower Shopping Mall, where I picked up a pretty yellow scarf, and after we browsed some clothing and art stores we went outside and checked out the pottery store, which had really great prices. We went to the next store and it was a glass blowing store where they had a lot of great pieces to purchase, and you could also watch them do some glassblowing, and you can even sign up to take a glassblowing class.

IMG_2801
Clock Tower Shopping Mall

IMG_2802

The Bone Fish Bar & Grill is another great restaurant at the dockyards, its the first restaurant once you step off from the docks. We happened to see some camera crew eating lunch here, maybe they were filming for a tv show or a movie!

IMG_2803

After getting some gelato near the fort, we then got on to our ferry heading back to St. George’s and we were able to see people working on the Oracle one last time

IMG_2806

Once we get on the bus heading toward our hotel, we spotted numerous colorful houses and I spent the rest of the time daydreaming what color I would paint my house if I bought a house in Bermuda, and I think I would paint it a light turquoise blue to match the color of the water.

IMG_2819

IMG_2820

IMG_2823
Grotto Bay Beach Resort

At the end of the day I went back to the hotel restaurant for dinner and got a table by the window to look out at the sunset and eventually made my way outside afterwards and enjoyed the remaining sunset.

IMG_2745

“We travel not to escape life, but for life not to escape us” – Anonymous

18 thoughts on “Hello? It’s me… Calling You From a British Phone Booth in Bermuda

  1. Karmughil Vannan

    You got a great post here! Piled up with loads of phenomenal photographs. Bermuda looks stunning. Already Bermuda is in my To Do list. Now having seen all your photos, now its in my Never Miss list. You have great content as well. Absolutely astounding. Looking forward to really read more on your blog. Right away following your blog now. 🙂 🙂 http://www.authoringlife.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great photos and information. Brought back wonderful memories. We took a Bermuda cruise from New York a few years ago. Still have the plastic Bermuda water bottle, filled with Bermuda’s pink sand. Not sure if you can do that now, but seeing it always makes me smile. Thanks for sharing and keep posting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It sounds like you had a great time in Bermuda! I don’t believe you can collect the sand, TSA might confiscate it. I did purchase a little pint size bottle of the pink sand from the gift shop which said it was TSA approved. I’m glad you enjoyed my post 🙂

      Like

  3. Wow, what an amazing place, the colour of the water is stunning (makes me want to jump right in) and some of the buildings are very nice, what an amazing experience, and that sunrise, although it happens every day, for me every sunrise and sunset is a unique experience to witness, take care

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes the color of the water is unbelievable! My mouth was open from amazement the entire ride from the airport to the hotel on the first day! For some reason I think sunrises and sunsets are more gorgeous when you’re on the beach and hear the waves crashing, definitely an amazing experience 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Really enjoyed this post. The pictures are wonderful and gives a glimpse of an island that looks very relaxed, tranquil and peaceful. Everything is so litter free, clean and tidy. Reflects that there would be a lot of pride of the island residents,
    Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I actually never really noticed that it was litter free but looking back at it now the entire island had no litter! Not even in the capital city of Hamilton, which is quite impressive! I’m glad you enjoyed the post 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment